OHIP Diagnostic Codes (Dx) Lookup


How to search for an OHIP diagnostic code (OHIP Dx) using MDBilling

The diagnosis lookup function will allow you to spell-out the diagnosis within your claim and a list of related codes will popup for you to select the appropriate code. To enable this feature, please go to -> Preferences -> turn on the Enable Diagnostic Suggestions -> Save.

Our searching diagnostic codes tutorial has more details if you need them.

Further, you can learn to bill OHIP using our video tutorials. We've broken them down by specialty including common diagnostic codes that you'll want to know.

What are OHIP diagnostic codes?

MoH requires 3-digit numeric diagnostic codes to be included in the claim for many of the services billed to OHIP.

Which diagnostic codes to use?

MoH currently uses the ICD-8 list of diagnostic codes.

Background: Diagnostic codes are used to group and identify diseases, disorders, symptoms, poisonings, adverse effects of drugs & chemicals, injuries and other reasons for patient encounters.
Diagnosis classification systems have been implemented based on patient encounter types such as emergency, inpatient, outpatient, mental health as well as surgical care. The International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD) is a widely used classification system for diagnosis coding.
As the knowledge of health and medical advances arise, the diagnostic codes are revised and updated. Hence, there are lists of ICD-8 codes, ICD-9 codes, ICD-10 codes.
List of diagnostic codes from OHIP: A full list of the ICD-8 diagnostic codes can be found in the Resource Manual for Physicians.

Our OHIP rejection code library may also be useful for you.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful